The 2011 Queensland Participation Grand Prix is an initiative of the Chess Association of Qld to encourage participation in Qld weekenders, particularly those held in regional locations. The prizes will therefore not necessarily be won by the best players, but by those who perform well and are also prepared to participate regularly.
The Grand Prix points awarded to a player for each event (provided they are not an unapproved withdrawer) is the sum of a player's score and a 'participation bonus' which depends on where the event is held. At the end of the 2011 calendar year, prizes will be awarded based on the sum of these scores. In the event of a tie, the relevant prizes will be combined and split equally.
In order to qualify for the GP, an event must be open to all players, approved for rating on the 'Normal' (or 'Classic') ACF Rating List, and be played on a single weekend (a 'long weekend' is considered to be a single weekend). Events with rounds on (non-holiday) weekdays may be accepted, provided the majority of rounds are held on a weekend. If an event is divided into sections (eg Open & Under 1600) then it will still qualify, as long as the combined sections are open to all players.
Players must be (or become) CAQ members, and must be resident in Queensland. The decisions of the CAQ Council will be final on all matters.

LEADING SCORES (Eligible Players Only)

Tony Weller 229
Yi Liu 193
Stephen Solomon 190
Mark C Stokes 188.5
Brodie McClymont 187
George E Lester 167


1ST $500 Tony Weller 2ND $300 Yi Liu 3RD $250 Stephen Solomon 4TH $200 Mark Stokes 5TH $150 Brodie McClymont 6TH $100 George Lester

A full list of Grand Prix scores is available here (this list may include ineligible players): Grand Prix Points for Every Player